JR Redwater: More Natives Succeeding

Editor’s Note: This dude is hilarious. I don’t know Jr. at all, but I’ve been an admirer for awhile. That’s right Mr. Redwater, you have a stalker. A big Blackfeet stalker. Scary. Change your locks. Hide your woman (ayyyeezzzz!!!!)

The truth is that there are a lot of Native comedians on the come up–obviously the legendary Charlie Hill and (less obviously) the silly Colville Vaughn Eaglebear come to mind, amongst many others. God bless all of them! Achieve those dreams! JR, however, is my favorite (for now!!! I’m fickle and always willing to change for cheap flattery!!)–he has a storytelling style that I’ve always appreciated from my favorite comedians: John Leguizamo, Bill Cosby, Chris Rock, George Lopez. That storytelling style is the “old man’s” perspective–not “let’s run down the hill and make love to a cow,” instead it’s “let’s walk down to the hill and make sweet, passionate love to ALL the cows.”

That’s JR Redwater. He wants to make sweet, sweet Lakota-style love to all the cows. In a good way (I think).

He doesn’t rush a punchline. He doesn’t impatiently wait for people to “get it.” The humor is in the totality of his delivery and his story, not a single punchline.

He is funny incarnate–heck, I think if his jokes DIDN’T have a punchline (which, sometimes they do not), they would STILL be funny.

I’m not going to slobber all over this Standing Rock man’s microphone too much longer. I just felt that it was important to point out yet another Native person succeeding on a big level. It’s going to become an even bigger level. Promise. Thanks for following your dreams, JR (and all other Natives succeeding)!!!

Published in: on June 22, 2010 at 7:06 pm  Comments (10)